Wild Goose Poetry Review

Contemporary Poetry, Reviews, and Commentary

Ronald Moran, Sleep

leave a comment »

Ronald Moran
SLEEP

It’s much easier now for me to get the fantods,
as in,
for example, when I hear my house cracking its
knuckles,
I hear it as someone trying to crack the lock
on my

back door, and, in a move of utter futility, I aim
my
pencil flashlight in that direction, then try to fall
asleep,
until I start a round of dreams in which the dead
of

my life return, and while I am trying to please
them,
which is impossible, as it was when they were
alive,
I wake up, my body tingling, my heart beat
elevated,

and so I drink two glasses of water, add a third
pillow
under my head, leave the light on for a couple
of minutes,
and wait for the miracle of water to cleanse
me.

Bio: Ronald Moran is the author of a dozen collections of poetry and several volumes of literary criticism. Professor Emeritus at Clemson University, he lives in Simpsonville, SC.

Written by wildgoosepoetryreview

August 14, 2012 at 11:00 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

