Wild Goose Poetry Review

Contemporary Poetry, Reviews, and Commentary

Summer 2012

leave a comment »

Wild Goose Poetry Review
Summer 2012

Poets sometimes get a bad rap for always being down on things. A great deal of poetry, after all, is about suffering, loss, grief, injustice, cruel irony . . . you get the idea. A non-poet friend recently commented to me that poets find weightiness in the smallest things. I think that’s a fair statement about poets, but the weightiness poets find is not always negative. Sometimes we find uplifting significance in small things.

I’m not sure which makes me happier — having a poet whose work I have long admired find Wild Goose Poetry Review and send in some of their own good poems; having a poet who has unsuccessfully submitted to Wild Goose Poetry Review several times in the past finally get it just right; or having a poet who has worked with me in either a seated or online workshop send me a poem that gets in. All of these occurrences are small things that seem significant to me . . . and all of them make me happy.

This issue of Wild Goose Poetry Review marks the end of our sixth year of publication. And I am made happy by the fact that this issue contains poems from poets whose work I’ve long admired but who have never submitted to Wild Goose before; poems from poets who have submitted several times but have never had their work selected until now; and poems from poets whom I have had the joy of working with in developing their own poetic fluency. I am also made happy by the fact that so many of my favorite poets from previous issues continue to send me their wonderful poems.

As always, another source of joy for me in putting Wild Goose together is manipulating the juxtapositions of poems. Of course, the reader can read without instruction in whatever order they choose. Nevertheless, if you enjoy connections, then I encourage you to consider the poems by Lowery, Albrecht, Campbell, and Beadle as one sequence; those by Herman, Jenkins, King, and Losse as another; and all of the remaining poems (except Ortolani’s, which stood out on their own in my mind) as a long sequence.

Also as always, it will make me quite happy to read your comments on these poems, share them with the authors, and then read their responses. I hope that process deepens the experience of the poems for all of our readers.

Finally, I extend my gratitude to Nancy Posey and Helen Losse for their reviews of wonderful new books of poems by Amy Tipton Cortner, Jessie Carty, and Nancy Pittman-Schulz.

Enjoy the issue. We will kick off our seventh year with our second annual “100 Thousand Poets for Change (NC)” issue in November.

Contents
Joanne Lowery, Give, Present Tense
Malaika King Albrecht, How to Kiss Fire
Malaika King Albrecht, These Are My Transgressions
Pris Campbell, Titanic
Pris Campbell, Strut
Michael Beadle, Flesh and Blood
Mimi Herman, The Visualizing Mind Has No Word for No
Mimi Herman, Cassandra
Mark Allen Jenkins, The Trouble with Explorers
Robert S. King, The Language of Trees
Helen Losse, Of course, the poet is parent to the verse
Jessie Carty, Everyone Named Her Bright
Lynn Ciesielski, Old Rivers
Corey Cook, One Year Old Hands
Barbara Gabriel, Covenant
Barbara Gabriel, Mothballed
Philip Dacey, Triolet: a Juilliard Pianist
Harry Youtt, Trudging Up the Black Stone Hill
Barbara Presnell, My Son Comes Home
Larry Schug, You Wish
Janice Sullivan, Visiting Pinewood Cemetery
Janice Sullivan, Great Blue Heron
Maril Crabtree, High School Reunion
Ronald Moran, Sleep
Maryfrances Wagner, Aunt Mary Wants a Chef at the Nursing Home
Al Ortolani, Soaring Fins
Al Ortolani, Another Tornado Warning

Reviews
Helen Losse, Review of Amy Tipton Cortner’s Zen Baptist
Nancy Posey, Review of Jessie Carty’s Amateur Marriage
Nancy Posey, Review of Kimberly Pittman Schulz’s Mosslight

Written by wildgoosepoetryreview

August 14, 2012 at 11:32 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

