Wild Goose Poetry Review

Contemporary Poetry, Reviews, and Commentary

Annie Pott, Desertion

with 3 comments

Annie Pott
DESERTION

Write I say, but my pen is dry.
Write I say again, louder, but the
pencil sits dull in front of me.
Write, I scream, but the keyboard
has turned upside down.

There is no outlet for the thoughts
crowding into corners of my mind.
My eyes see the world and flick away
to another place. I taste the world’s
offerings but my tongue says bland.

My ears hear the whispers and horns,
bleats and barks, but in my head
all is silent. There is no love no hate
only a shrug of worldly shoulders.

Everything I have, everything I own,
everything I have ever thought or
ever will think, is stowed away in a
bag tossed carelessly over those worldly
shoulders, bumping along as it moves away.

I can’t cry.

Author’s Comment: My much-loved mother came to live with us in 2011 and stayed for a year and a half before suddenly passing away. When she died, my pen went dry and my heart just couldn’t find the way out of my sorrow. This poem reflects the sadness and lack of life that had been devouring me since her death, before I finally realized that I am still here and have some more life to live and words to share.

Bio: Annie Pott was born in Duluth Minnesota, lived in Southern California and Florida, and now South Carolina. She has been involved with the Osher Lifelong Learning Institute for nearly a decade.

Written by wildgoosepoetryreview

February 14, 2013 at 12:54 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. God love you Annie. You are the poet,. bob o ‘brien

    Bob O'Brien

    February 14, 2013 at 8:07 pm

  2. This is one of those poems that one doesn’t seek out, but that is heartbreakingly, personally familiar once it’s found and read. I lost a family member some months ago, and have yet to be able to write, so I empathise completely.

    Phebe Davidson

    February 16, 2013 at 2:29 am

  3. Hey, Annie. You are indeed, still here. And I for one am so glad you are, living life and sharing words.
    Stay the course.

    Jim R. Rogers

    February 19, 2013 at 4:25 pm


Leave a Reply

