Wild Goose Poetry Review

Contemporary Poetry, Reviews, and Commentary

Heidi Sherlock, Physician Heal Thyself

with 8 comments

Heidi Sherlock
PHYSICIAN HEAL THYSELF

Let me take the p and shove its dowager’s hump of a back through the hole.
Then follows the o.
I’ll pop it through the opening like a grape.
It will make a sound like the suck of air after the opening of a jar.
Next is the e.
I’ll shove it in and up hoping that the little tail at the end of the turtle shell does not get caught.
At last I will back up to the m and push its washboard shoulders through the hole.
Strung with letters my needle does its work.
Thimble tips stroke the page, protecting the lily white paper.
Piercing and piecing remnants of soul tatters,
my nimble fingers thread a poem, suture a wound.

Author’s Comments: This poem had its genesis in the last line. I also liked the idea of making a poem a literal, animate object. Imagery played a big part here. As poets we cobble together our observations, experiences and impressions and give them new form, as in a new garment. Hopefully the result is something that ministers to the soul. Often, we are agents of our own healing.

Written by wildgoosepoetryreview

February 14, 2013 at 12:39 am

Posted in Uncategorized

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very clever. Poems about poems are done to death, but this one works for me because it has some depth. Good job, Heidi.

    Robert S. King

    February 14, 2013 at 2:29 pm

    • Thank you, Robert. I appreciate your comments!

      Heidi Sherlock

      February 15, 2013 at 1:59 am

  2. An admirably unusual poem, Heidi. Keep them coming!

    Maren O. Mitchell

    February 14, 2013 at 10:39 pm

    • Maren, thanks so much! I am working on my productivity, but ” they” just seem to come out like babies- in their own good time!

      Heidi Sherlock

      February 15, 2013 at 2:05 am

  3. This poem spoke to me Heidi!! It reminded me of the power of the written word and its healing qualities:))) Great job!

    Barbara Soltys

    February 16, 2013 at 11:50 am

  4. I am partial to utilizing the pictures that letters create as that is such a primal activity we can enjoy even before we can read, one I remember doing. There is that joy of play – love the turtle tail especially – and also the hardship of rebirth. Thank you for this p-o-e-m.

    Hilda Downer

    February 17, 2013 at 4:17 pm

  5. I am glad you “listened” to it Barbara. Yes, words can heal. What power and responsibility! Thanks for reading!

    Heidi Sherlock

    February 18, 2013 at 1:48 am

  6. Thank you for your thoughts, Hilda.

    Heidi Sherlock

    February 18, 2013 at 1:50 am


Leave a Reply

