Wild Goose Poetry Review

Contemporary Poetry, Reviews, and Commentary

Winter 2013

with 4 comments

WILD GOOSE POETRY REVIEW
WINTER 2013

    Moment of Reflection

I wonder what the average lifespan of a poetry journal is. This issue, our 24th, marks 6 ½ years for Wild Goose. I’m feeling pretty good about that. This is also my 12th issue as Editor and with the 5 prior issues as co-Editor, my 17th overall. I’m feeling pretty good about that too. Of course, I want to thank Patricia Bostian who started it all off, and those who help out by writing reviews when I have too many to do on my own: Helen Losse, Ann Chandonnet, Nancy Posey, Tim Peeler, Ami Kaye, Bud Caywood. And most of all, I want to thank the wonderful poets (too many to name, but you can see the entire list in the index) who have shared their poems with us, and the wonderful readers who keep coming back and joining in the discussion. Now, on to the Winter 2013 issue.

    A Word on the Winter Issue

A couple of years ago I commented on just how much I enjoy arranging the order of poems in an issue of Wild Goose Poetry Review, how much I enjoy noticing thematic, imagistic, and stylistic connections between the selected poems and placing them in a proximity that creates opportunities for comparison, contrast, enrichment, and a sort of poetic discussion. It’s still true, and the poems in this issue have a lot of very interesting connections. As you read through, look for a string of poems that deal with loss, and another string of politically-minded poems. There are other strings as well, but I leave that pleasure of discovery and speculation to the reader. And there are many poems that could have been added to the strings but were separated due to authors having multiple poems, only one of which could be “tied in” without separating their work.

Whatever you pick up on, let me hear about it, and leave comments for the authors. In other words, join in the conversation.

    Why You Should NOT Subscribe to Wild Goose Poetry Review

I know it seems odd for an editor to say so, but you should NOT subscribe to Wild Goose Poetry Review. You should, of course, read it . . . repeatedly, but you should not subscribe to it if you are annoyed by your email in-box filling up with notices of postings, specifically with about 30 notices 4 times a year, which is still a lot less than all those poem-a-day blogs, but when you hit one of those 4 days a year when the journal goes live, it probably doesn’t seem any less.

I post each poem as a separate blog entry so that readers can leave and read comments on individual poems rather than having to sort through all the comments about an entire issue. But I still like to have a single issue online at a time so that readers can scroll through as if they have just received their favorite print journal and can read as many poems from it as they want in individual sittings. I also like to have the issues separated as such in the archives.

So, the only solution I know of for those who don’t want to receive a deluge of emails on publication days is simply to not subscribe. We have more than 150 subscribers, and although I can see who they are, I don’t think I can delete any of them. I believe that can only be done by the subscriber. On the other hand, we have many times more visitors than we do subscribers, and those visitors do not receive emails for every poem we put up.

So, while I enjoy knowing that so many people have elected to subscribe to Wild Goose, if those emails are a nuisance to you, don’t subscribe. Read, of course! Come back in the middle of February, May, August, and November to read the new issues, and visit frequently in between to re-read and participate in the comments. Or, send me your email address and I’ll put you on a distribution list to receive just one email directly from me announcing each new issue.

I hope this helps, and I hope you enjoy the Winter 2013 issue.

Contents
Tim Peeler, Webbing
Tim Peeler, Out the Kitchen Window at Night
Nancy Dew Taylor, Found
Hilda Downer, Battle at Blair Mountain
Robert S. King, A Dutiful Ruler Speaks of Peace
Joseph Mills, Swimming Lessons
Joseph Mills, Digging to China
Paul Hostovsky, Favorites
Kelly Eastlund, The Poem in the Backseat
Kelly Eastlund, Blood and Song
Kelly DeMaegd, Shortest Day Longest Night
Pat Daneman, His Truck
Sharon Cramer, Going Forward
Annie Pott, Desertion
Carson Leonhardt, Under the Dogwood Tree
Ronald Moran, Lunch Downtown
Ronald Moran, Wasps
Ronald Moran, New Britain, 1952
Heidi Sherlock, An Undressing
Heidi Sherlock, Physician Heal Thyself
Anna Weaver, Not Another Cat Poem
Anna Weaver, The Poet Buys a Townhouse
Maren O. Mitchell, Items on the Survival Kit List
Natalie Easton, Thermography
Annmarie Lockhart, Carnival
Verna Austen, Safe
Stephen Davidson, The Longest Ride
Stephen Davidson, Response Time
Betty O’Hearn, Cherries

Reviews
Scott Owens, Review of Daniel Nathan Terry’s “Waxwings”
Helen Losse, Review of M. Scott Douglass’ “Hard to Love”
Scott Owens, Review of Connie Post’s “And When the Sun Drops”
Scott Owens, Review of Mimi Herman’s “Logophilia”
Scott Owens, Review of Molly Rice’s “Mill Hill”
Helen Losse, Review of Clare L. Martin’s “Eating the Heart First”

Written by wildgoosepoetryreview

February 14, 2013 at 1:32 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sorry Scott…I was kind of confused about why my email box was filling up with great poems and well written book reviews about books by feminist authors…Now that I know this, I am pleased that it happened

    Sam Silva

    February 14, 2013 at 1:47 am

  2. Congrats, Scot! I always enjoy WG…and my inbox makes me feel as if a giggle of poet-friends have dropped in for a surprise party. Today, it’s a Valentine’s party in verse.

    Karla

    kmerrifi

    February 14, 2013 at 10:04 am

  3. Funny. I wrote the part about not subscribing after getting three complaints last issue about the in-box filling up. Now this time I’ve had a dozen people say they kind of like it, and not a single person has sent their email address so that they’ll just get the one email each time, and more people have subscribed to the journal.

    wildgoosepoetryreview

    February 15, 2013 at 4:43 pm

  4. Back in the print-only days, someone (I forget who) did a study on the longevity of literary magazines. The average lifespan was three issues. Using that measuring stick, the Wild Goose is ancient and to be applauded.

    Robert S. King

    February 15, 2013 at 8:02 pm


Leave a Reply

