Wild Goose Poetry Review

Contemporary Poetry, Reviews, and Commentary

Douglas McHargue, Sugar

with 4 comments

Douglas Anne McHargue
SUGAR

I get in my car,
day after Christmas
budget blown
but leaving Happy Dollar,
woman parked
by the drink machine,
Oh ma’am
Do you have a dollar
.
She’s not young,
the man beside her
old, in a suit
maybe can’t walk
so I go over
they need a soda
and do I have a cup.

I have no cup
but spare change
and desire to get
back on the road
go home, anywhere
but here
and she asks
Do you have sugar.

Packets of sugar, you mean
I ask. Oh, no, your feet
they looked swollen,
straps on my shoes
cutting into my arch
she said like her sister’s,
She got sugar.

Sugar, oldtimers’ for diabetes.
I say No, head for my car
making time.
She goes to the machine
wearing a dress and slow shoes,
sweetness freefalling
through her veins,
not mine.

Written by wildgoosepoetryreview

November 15, 2013 at 2:07 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Doug has one of the most memorable southern voices ever; definitely some sugar in it.

    Tim Peeler

    November 17, 2013 at 1:16 am

  2. I am honored to have such a nice comment from my own Southern hero!
    Doug

    Douglas Anne McHargue

    November 18, 2013 at 6:34 pm

  3. Doug has an extraordinary way of “poeming’ simple events of the world around us!

    patricia deaton

    November 19, 2013 at 2:23 pm

  4. Thank you for a most generous comment, Patricia!
    Doug

    Douglas Anne McHargue

    November 22, 2013 at 10:25 pm


Leave a Reply

