Wild Goose Poetry Review

Contemporary Poetry, Reviews, and Commentary

Ellae Lawton, Existential Crisis at Age Six

with 5 comments

Ellae Lawton
EXISTENTIAL CRISIS AT AGE SIX

When Mother double-parked in Waukegan
and went to renew her driver’s license
I could read the sign FISH down the hill
just before the dark blue of the Big Lake
stretched out farther than I could see.
I clutched the hanger strap of the gray
pre-war Plymouth as hard as I could,
hoping if I held tight it might not roll.
Watching the whitecaps churning in,
I wondered–if it rolled me down, down,
plunged me into the lake, would a big
fish come and swallow me like Jonah
in the story my grandmother told? Did
God want me to do something I hadn’t?
Did I forget to say prayers last night?
Forget to pick up my crayons and paper
dolls? Did He hear me call Sharry
a dummy? What if my mother came back
and the car was gone and me with it,
how would she get home? And
what would she tell my dog?

Written by wildgoosepoetryreview

November 15, 2013 at 2:09 am

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This poem takes the reader right into the scene, connects us to our own childhood memories of angst.

    Kathy Nelson

    November 15, 2013 at 9:48 am

  2. This poem brought back to me a time in my life when I was left alone in a car and how frightened I became. I could relate well to this child’s worry.

    Glenda

    November 18, 2013 at 5:33 am

  3. This poem speaks well to my inner child and the simple fears of the young and innocent.

    Staci Lynn Bell

    November 18, 2013 at 4:47 pm

  4. I love this! Takes me back to the questioning wonder and downright terror of being six, and at the mercy of the gods we called parents.

    patricia deaton

    November 19, 2013 at 2:11 pm

  5. I’m so glad this is speaking to others–and I love that phrase “the gods we called parents.”

    Ellae Lawton

    December 27, 2013 at 2:29 am


Leave a Reply

