Wild Goose Poetry Review

Contemporary Poetry, Reviews, and Commentary

Kelly DeMaegd, Assonance

with 10 comments

Kelly DeMaegd
ASSONANCE

You can wish in one hand, spit
in the other, see which one fills
up first. This was her stock reply,

usually in response to my brother’s
request for a tree house, speed boat,
snowmobile. Her eyes focused

on the page of a Perry Mason
mystery, cup of coffee in hand;
wisdom buried in cliché.

I listened closely to her voice;
loved the repetition of sound
in the words wish, spit, fills.

Author’s Comment: When I was a kid, I loved to hear people talk. I counted syllables, listened to the timing and rhythm of speech and admired words that rhymed. All this before I discovered my love of poetry!

Bio: Kelly DeMaegd is a Pushcart-nominated poet living in Sherrills Ford, NC. She has been published in Wild Goose Poetry Review, Vox Poetica and Your Daily Poem. She is also a regular contributor to Art of Poetry at the Hickory Museum of Art.

Written by wildgoosepoetryreview

November 15, 2013 at 2:10 am

Posted in Uncategorized

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As I read this I could see your mom in this one. Simple , straightforward replies with humorous antidotes.

    John DeMaegd

    November 15, 2013 at 4:11 pm

    • Thanks, John – she was exactly as you described her! I appreciate that you remembered.

      Kelly DeMaegd

      November 18, 2013 at 12:03 am

  2. Wish I could have known her … I love that you “listened closely to her voice”. We should all do more of that.

    Retha Davis

    November 15, 2013 at 4:59 pm

    • Thanks, Retha. Unfortunately I listened to her voice and missed the message of her words until I was much older!

      Kelly DeMaegd

      November 18, 2013 at 12:01 am

  3. Love the assonance “meaning” of each phrase, Kelly!

    Maren O. Mitchell

    November 18, 2013 at 2:02 am

    • Maren, I reread my poem after your comment and realized there is more assonance than I thought! Thank you!

      Kelly DeMaegd

      November 24, 2013 at 7:53 pm

  4. Kelly, your work is so thoughtful and well-crafted. Great job!

    patricia deaton

    November 19, 2013 at 2:43 pm

    • That means a lot to me, Patricia – thank you!

      Kelly DeMaegd

      November 24, 2013 at 7:54 pm

  5. All that paying attention really prepared you for poetry, Kelly.
    Doug

    Douglas Anne McHargue

    November 22, 2013 at 10:32 pm

    • It was either poetry or a life dedicated to straightening throw rug fringe! Thanks, Doug!

      Kelly DeMaegd

      November 24, 2013 at 7:58 pm


Leave a Reply

