Wild Goose Poetry Review

Contemporary Poetry, Reviews, and Commentary

Tim Peeler, Old Man Poems

with 6 comments

Tim Peeler
OLD MAN POEMS

I’d lay my pipe on the table beside the chair
And get on the exercise bike
That had belonged to one of the Clydes.
It was the best thing for the cancer,
The doctor told me. After a while
I could go five miles, sometimes
Twice in one day, and I’d watch
A Braves game while I pedaled
Or listen to music on the headphones
Cause otherwise my wife’d try to talk
And a man with cancer hasn’t got time
To talk while he’s riding a bicycle
That is taking him nowhere.

Written by wildgoosepoetryreview

November 15, 2013 at 2:07 am

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great poem, Tim. Sounds as if you’d stepped into my husband’s sneakers to write it. Sigh.

    Karla Linn Merrifield

    November 15, 2013 at 3:48 pm

  2. Top dollar poem!

    priscampbell

    November 15, 2013 at 7:27 pm

  3. Thanks Karla and Pris.

    Tim Peeler

    November 16, 2013 at 4:27 am

  4. excellent poem.

    Staci Lynn Bell

    November 18, 2013 at 5:18 pm

  5. Heartbreaking, on many levels. One of those poems that stays with you.

    patricia deaton

    November 22, 2013 at 3:54 pm

  6. The Old Man poems ring so true – a lot of days I feel I’m on that bicycle to nowhere!

    Douglas Anne McHargue

    January 21, 2014 at 11:58 pm


Leave a Reply

