Ronald Moran, Early Summer

Ronald Moran
EARLY SUMMER

My friend writes that he hopes I am staying cool
during
the worst heat spell in the recorded history of
South Carolina,
known for, among other things, its hot, muggy
summers,

the air thick enough to take away the breath
of our
elderly and very young in July and August, but
not on
our beaches or high up in the Blue Ridge Range;
and while

I may not be staying as cool as I want, I am cool
enough
and thankful I do not have to worry about floods,
grassfires,
blizzards, ice storms, tornadoes, and earthquakes
here,

in my corner of our state, between mountains
and flatlands,
the Piedmont, where I admit to the possibility
of nature
exercising its bad temper but I will not admit to
its probability.

Leave a Reply

