Momma

MOMMA  

by Dennis Lovelace

She never wanted it this way
Machines breathing for her,
Eating and pissing and shitting
For her, measuring vital
Signs to no avail
Surrounded by her children who lack
The courage to say, no
Open your eyes, Momma
I need to tell you I love you
 
Comment: In February of 2004, my Father passes away. One week he was fine and the next he was gone. It was devastating to my Mother and our family. Mom was always the one sick and we expected her to go first. On March 31, Momma collapsed and rushed to Carolina Medical center in Charlotte. She was in the heart unit in intensive care and on life support for the next 6 weeks despite her stated wish. My siblings and I were not able to handle the thought of losing both parents so quickly.

Bio: Dennis M. Lovelace was born on October 14, 1954 in Shelby, North Carolina. He currently resides in the Mountain View section of Hickory N.C. with his wife Diane. He is a retired Letter Carrier from the U.S. Postal Service. He spent 10 years in the U.S. Marines Corps.

One thought on “Momma

  1. This is the kind of poem that sticks with you. It’s a very sad poem. Nicely done. And I’m sorry for the circumstance.

Leave a comment