Landing Pattern in Mid-Afternoons, by Ronald Moran

Ronald Moran
LANDING PATTERN IN MID-AFTERNOONS

At the same time every school day afternoon
while I am
in my den, as usual trying to decipher the secret
of my
small, singular universe, shrinking every day,
I wonder

if the big one is also shrinking, as some say,
or expanding,
as most astrophysicists maintain—my not being
practiced
in their arts, so I believe—and given findings,
it is fast

becoming an art, since each piece, however small,
is needed
to sustain life in the universe; and I am impressed,
not uneasy,
but if I were younger, I would take physics more
seriously,

so while I am reflecting, with far fewer synapses
than before,
about creation, endings without biblical prompts,
I hear
a sound like a 737 in a landing pattern overhead,
and I rise

to look out the four pane, palladium window over
my expanse
of blinds, for a Southwest Airliner, a new carrier
flying 737s
to our airport, big jets for us, but the sound comes
from a school bus

downshifting on a gentle decline, below the only
landing pattern
over my subdivision, carrying five or six children
from Oakview,
while someone waits for each one, as if the bus stop
were a gate.

Bio: Ronald Moran is Professor Emeritus at Clemson University. He is the award-winning author of 11 collections of poetry and literary criticism

11 thoughts on “Landing Pattern in Mid-Afternoons, by Ronald Moran

    • Hey Joan,

      You did it again. And, believe me, I do appreciate it. And, again, it happened.

      I’m sorry I left off the word “of” in my comment on your comment of another of my poems in this issue.

      Take care,

      Ron

    • Hey Maren,

      I adopted that style, probably five or so years ago, and I probably will continue to use it so long as I can still write, which may not be too long in the future, but I worked last night, from, say, 12:30 to about 2:30, trying to polish four new poems, and, I think I might have made some headway. Thank you for reading my work.

      Ron

      • I have been pondering your “style,” your pattern, and find it more and more agreeable. Can you describe how you came to “find” it? I like it so much, I am going to steal it and see how it feels. In looking at the archives I found more of your poems in the same pattern. Don’t understand how I was blind. There is such movement in the long lines, and followed by constant attention-getting in the short ones. Do you know of other writers employing this rhythm?

      • Hey Maren,

        I changed my method of writing poems after reading extensively the poetry of David Kirby. I don’t imitate his form, but, while rhythm–the flow of a poem–has always been very important to me, David’s work pushed me into the direction of the one long line, followed by a short one. Even though he doesn’t use that format, I learned from him how to make a poem more “readable.” I appreciate your comments and your interest. I don’t know of any other writers whose poems are similar in format to mine, but I find it comfortable. My most important objective in writing poems is to make the reader want to say, “Hey I could have written that,” but it takes me a long time with each poem before I can ever say that I have reached that goal, and, of course, often I don’t.

        Ron

  1. I so much enjoy your comments on the writing. Seems silly just to correspond here. Today’s question is: do you find you use the same form regardless of the subject? I find the latter leads me to the former as a rule.
    Joan
    http://www.jlcannon.net (you’ll find my e-mail address there).

    • Hey Maren,

      If I can find any of my two latest volumes around here––Waiting (2009) and The Jane Poems (2011––would you like me to send you a copy of each? Direct communicatiOn is fine. My email is morrie1@charter.net. And, of course, I would be glad to look at your work.

      Ron

      • Ronald, you are most kind. I would love copies of your books. I certainly can afford the price that must, as always, be far less than the worth. Will email soon. Looked up and read some of David Kirby online. I do not find much to compare. His go on and on. Yours flow with movement.

    • Hey Joan,

      Please use my email as soon as you would like to shift from one of form communication to another. My email is morrie1@charter.net. In response to your question, Now, yes, I use that format almost exclusively, since it seems to suit me better than any other at the time I am writing. But, no, once in a great while I will revert back to the format that characterized my earlier writings, if at the onset of the poem I find I am, amost without thinking about it, writing lines of relatively the same length.

      Ron

  2. Thanks, Ronald, for more explanation. I will look up David Kirby, study his. And also read yours over and over. If I am happy with my imitation(s), may I send it/them to you? Like Joan, I would find direct and lengthier communication agreeable. No problem if not. Maren

Leave a comment